So much to say

I’m not sure what’s going on with this week.  Classes are over, which means my workload should be considerably lessened, but for some reason I’m in the office (my job consists of a teaching component as well as an in-office component in which I organize events.  It should also be noted that our events only run through the academic year, so this should be a stress-free week on all counts.  Not so) for long days every day putting out fires and working on my new house under the bus.  Let me tell you, the view down there is terrible.  And there’s always this lingering odor of motor oil in the air.  The Febreze does nothing!  Seriously, though, it has not been a very good week, work-wise, and the stress of that has kept me from blogging even though I have so much I want to blog about.  It’s frustrating, and I’ve been in a sour mood for the past few days.  But here I am, taking a few quiet minutes away to check a blog post off the list of things to do.

So, first on the list?  A review of the second pair of shorts I bought not too long ago!  I know I still haven’t done a full review of the first pair, but I’ll get to that at some point.  Not today.  Today, I want to talk about the Zoot Ultra Run Short.  Like the Nike shorts I bought, these are looser shorts with (short) compression shorts underneath.  After wearing the Nike shorts for the Shred a few times (and not being thrilled with them) I was not optimistic about how the Zoot shorts would perform.  Well, it turns out that since Zoot is a real athletic apparel company that makes gear that performs well and doesn’t just look nice on a hanger (*cough* Nike *cough*), I was actually in for a treat with these shorts.  I gave them a test run with the Shred, and was pleased with how they felt.  They are roomy without extra fabric pulling and gapping everywhere.  The advantage to this is that you have real freedom of movement.

IMG_1509As you can see, these shorts are about the same length as the Nike pair I bought.  The compression shorts are also around the same length, possibly a bit shorter.  They also have a thicker band around the bottom, which doesn’t necessarily cause them to stay in place, but it must do something, right?  The shorts also have pockets on either side (along the upper thigh, right below the waistband).  The pockets do not close in any way which made me a bit nervous.  However, I found that my worries were unfounded, as my keys didn’t move a bit during both the Shred (with lots of plyometric moves) and and a run.

During my run in these shorts, there was very minimal thigh-creeping!  I didn’t find myself having to alter my gait to adjust my shorts, and I got to a point where I didn’t even have to think about them!  Now that is significant, because normally when I am running with shorts, I can’t stop fussing and fidgeting with them as they ride up my legs and bunch as though they have a mind of their own.  Sometimes I feel like they do it when I’m standing still.  Not these bad boys, though.  It’s almost as if Zoot actually tests their apparel designs on people and makes adjustments before finalizing the product, which is something I never got the impression other companies do.  Not based on my familiarity with their practices, of course, just with my experience with their shitty products (hello, arm welts from ipod armband?  yeah, enough said).

These shorts are slightly expensive, but for the peace of mind and awesome performance they offer, I would say they are worth every cent.  I definitely recommend giving these shorts a try!

4 comments

  1. I’m sorry to hear that those shorts are expensive since I was thinking of running out and picking up some – I don’t have any summer running garb. But I am enormously pleased that you have found some shorts that you like!!

  2. I swear, if I could find the perfect pair of running shorts, I would probably pay like $300 for them! I might just have to give these a try . . . thanks for the fabulous review! Oh, and I hope things get better at work soon–I seriously hate when work stress gets in the way of life/running/blogging/etc.!!

Leave a Reply

