Just keep running, just keep running…

I know it’s not very original, since I pretty much adapted it from “Finding Nemo”, but that’s my running mantra, especially on runs like the one I had today.  It was a really good run, but man, I don’t think I would have made it if I hadn’t had a little bit of fight in me.

Earlier this week, I meant to do a hill workout of 6-9 repeats, but I just never got around to it.  On Friday I pushed it back to Saturday, and yesterday I was just really, really tired and ended up not running at all.  So today I was faced with an important decision: hill workout, or long run?  I chose the wackest route–hill workout and long run combined!  I don’t necessarily recommend trying this at home, kids.  I also kind of though that today’s workout wasn’t going to happen at all.  I spent most of the day in my office working and by the time I came home, I felt really ill.  My stomach was upset (oh, surprised?  then you must not know me very well) and my head hurt.  I lay down for about an hour and got up without feeling any better than I did before.  But not wanting to skip my run, I decided that if nothing else, I should just run like two miles.  I mean, at least try something.

Luckily, I felt better once I got outside in the fresh(ish) air.  I did my nine hill repeats, and then tacked on the 4.1-mile loop that I have started doing lately.  It was another one of those days where you are running into the wind regardless of whether you are running north, south, east, or west.  At times, the wind was gusting so hard that I had trouble running down hill.  That’s never happened to me before.

All in all, it ended up being a really good run of 9 miles.  Now, for whatever reason, I’m back to feeling nauseous and head achy.  Go figure!  I also skipped the Shred today, figuring it was probably better to take a break rather than phone it in.  Jillian hates that.

8 comments

    1. I was thinking of doing a vegan diet as the next 30-day challenge. I am going to the doctor today, so we’ll see what she has to say, I guess!

Leave a Reply

