Don’t phone it in

Training has been going really well this week.  I hope that doesn’t jinx it.  After Wednesday’s successful speed work, I did a 4.1-mile loop in Central Park both yesterday and today.  Today I somehow managed to run it almost two minutes faster than I did on Thursday.  I didn’t even really feel like I was pushing really hard, just sort of running at a comfortable pace.  I wouldn’t call it easy, though, either.  As it should be, mostly.

Today, while running, I saw a raccoon, which will now go on my list of ‘nature I have seen in Central Park in the past couple weeks’.  Last time I did hill repeats I got a kick out of running past a little owl nestled in a hollowed out tree not too far from the Park drive.  He was sleeping, and looked very adorable and pocket-sized.  I sort of wanted to put him in my pocket (in spite of not having one) and take him home.  Then I thought about how when I was in fifth grade my elementary school class went on this outdoor education trip and the guides told us that owls will scratch your eyes out with their sharp talons if you get too close to them.  So I let that guy stay where he was.  I kind of like my eyes.  So owl, raccoon, and also a hawk.  I saw that from the park, though, landing on a building outside the park, so I guess maybe it doesn’t really count.  Also, the other day I saw some turtles.  That was in a different park altogether.  So maybe the hawk and turtles each count for 1/2 an animal in Central Park sighting.  Same city, anyway.

Moving on.

In addition to running four great miles today, I started Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred.  Now, I know that everyone has already done this and I’m not even going to try and pretend that I’m doing something new or original.  But I want to see how it goes.  You can read about what I’m doing with it here or here.  Level 1 went pretty quickly, and I enjoyed it.  I’m looking forward to seeing what kind of results I get from doing this over the next thirty days.  Jillian Michaels is predictably hardcore but also motivating (although I’m not entirely convinced that I’ll see huge changes in my body…but who knows?), and frequently reminds you not to ‘phone it in’.  Also of note: this workout will replace hours of ‘phoning it in’ at the gym.  I guess ‘phoning in’ a workout is something I missed out on.  I’m kind of pissed that no one ever told me that option was available.  And just to add insult to injury, the way my weight has been acting lately, you’d think all I ever did was phone it in!  Seriously, how does that work?!  Anyway, I’ll let you all  know how sore I am tomorrow.  With any luck, I’ll at least be able to get out of bed.

3 comments

  1. I’ve never heard of owls attacking or going for your eyes, I actually had an owl as a pet when I was 7… until my dog ate it.
    And I’ve never heard about Jillian Michales, so you can pretend you are doing something new and original, at least for me. I’ll check what it’s all about

  2. First of all, I am glad I’m not the only one who wants to put small animals in my pockets. Second of all, I am just horrified by the fact that Alien’s dog ate his pet owl! HOLY TRAUMATIZING! At any rate, great job with the runs and good luck with Jillian!!

Leave a Reply

