You might be just what I needed

Or something like that.  I think that’s a lyric.  Whatever.

Alternate post title: 5k training week 1 wrap up and Week 2 days 1 and 2

Without further ado, let’s get it started, people!  As you may have guessed, last week was a tough one.  I had to rearrange my schedule and then everything ended up just sort of falling apart.  I skipped Tuesday because I was hanging out with a friend I hadn’t seen in a while (definitely worth skipping a run for), Wednesday I just felt wiped out, and Thursday I ended up being at work longer than I expected.  I had been planning on a 10-ish hour day and got a 12-hour day instead.  Blah.  By the time I laced my running shoes back up, it was Friday, and I headed out for my hill training run.

Ugh.  So awful.  One of those times when you just feel really beaten up.  I was honestly ready to throw in the towel after that one.  I think I almost started crying while I was running.  Everything just felt so off.

Sunday I went out for a longer run of just under 7 miles.  This was also not an enjoyable experience, but it wasn’t quite as bad as Friday’s debacle.  It was at least decent enough for me to get the endorphin rush needed to make you forget how crappy a crappy run can feel.  Instead it felt like a crappy run but better than nothing!

This week I am back on track, so far.  Monday was a rest day (per the schedule) and yesterday I did my speed training.  Wow.  That was pain.  For one thing, the weather was sufficiently nice that I had to wear shorts and I think you all know how much I hate that.  Honestly, whether it’s a running skirt or shorts, it is going to ride up my legs and just make me really uncomfortable.  Really, ladies, if you have found a pair of shorts that doesn’t do this, please let me know where I can find them.  I’d also like to put this out there for any apparel company reps who may be reading: I would be more than happy to review your product!  If I could, I would honestly try every single pair of shorts on the market.  That’s how badly I would like to find the pair that actually work with my freakish thighs.

But I digress.

So: speed work.  The training plan called for 6 repeats–2x800m, 2x400m, and 2x200m.  I did these in Central Park, in an awesome area that measures exactly 400m.  The only problem is that there’s a slight hill if you run west-east.  I figured that the fact that on the 800s I was running both the uphill and the downhill probably worked itself out in terms of its effect on my pace.  I was aiming for repeats that would put me in the 8:00-8:30/mile range, and I am happy to say I hit that pace pretty consistently.  But man, did I feel like killing myself during those two 800s.  It didn’t help that I was sweating, my eyes were stinging, and my nose was dripping like a faucet.  This one gets filed into the same category as Sunday’s run.  I guess these are both improvements over Friday’s, though, right?  And that’s what really matters.

Fortunately, today’s recovery run was soooooo pleasant.  I went out in a light rain (which always sort of eliminates the better part of the riff raff that tends to drive me crazy because I’d prefer to be running in a less populated area) and just really enjoyed the whole thing.  It was a nice 4 miles or so and is the first good run I’ve had in quite some time.  I guess I was due.

Thanks to everyone for their encouragement and support.  It really means a lot to me and keeps me going when things are less than stellar my runiverse.

4 comments

  1. It’s like a lyric, only tentative and afraid of commitment.

    I’m glad you’re back on track (road, sidewalk, whatever) with the training routine!

  2. I’ve found that overdoses of BodyGlide is the only thing I can do to keep the shorts and skirts from riding up. Even that doesn’t help sometimes.

Leave a Reply

