Try something new

At the moment, I am still not registered for the triathlon, but it’s only because yesterday I was talking to my younger sister who lives in Philadelphia about it.  She has a friend who does this triathlon pretty often and had told my sister that it’s great, and one of the reasons why is because the women who do it are all really supportive of each other.  I immediately had thoughts of throngs of women holding hands or something as they crossed the finish line after running.  These thoughts disappeared when my sister gave an example of the solidarity–apparently, it’s not uncommon for participants to have panic attacks in the water.  Those of you who have visited Philadelphia and had a chance to take a gander at the Schuylkill may understand why.  That thing is filthy.  And dark.  And looks pretty dank.  The good news is that if you have a panic attack in the water, other women will stop and comfort you.  While you all tread water together, I guess.  Danskin also has a number of people they call swim angels in the water, for this exact reason, I’m guessing.  I was all set to register and then that news sort of rocked my world.  Now I’ve decided to sit for a while with it, as well as Alien‘s comment about focusing on the feet of the person (or people) in front of you, and just concentrating on that instead of the fact that you’re in open water.  I’m still pretty sure I’m going to register, I’m just a little nervous now and need a day or two 🙂

So the trying something new thing comes from my decision to try a 5k training plan, which is something I haven’t done before.  I am going to run a race I did last year with my older sister; it was her first 5k!  She won’t be running this year because by the time it rolls around in early May, she will be very pregnant.  I think my mom is going to run it, though.  In the past, I’ve just run 5ks for fun (and profit!  no, not really).  This time around, I’d really like to see how much time I can drop if I really focus on doing some speed work.  Since I’m not really doing anything else these days, I figure this is as good a time as any.  And once I’m done with the 5k, it will be time to start training for the tri!!

At the moment, I think I am probably just going to go with this training plan from Runner’s World.  Does anyone have any suggestions about another plan they have tried and really liked?

5 comments

  1. I usually use RW’s training plans and they have worked pretty well for me so far. 5k’s are fun, it’s a distance you can do pretty fast. I’m always curious what my time would be if I trained for one, I always run that distance for fun too… actually, I’ve never done an official 5k race, but I use that distance to do time trials pretty often.

    And stop worrying about the open water thingy, you’ll be out of the water before you know it!

  2. I have been gravitating towards the FIRST training plans lately . . . and I know they have a 5K training plan that follows the same general principles as the marathon plan I’m following (speed intervals + tempo run + long run + cross training).

    But I think a lot of people have had success with the RW plan too . . . so that’s definitely a great option.

    Oh, and I agree with Alien. Sign up! Sign up! Sign up! You can totally do it!! 🙂

  3. I only run my 5k’s for profit. And because of that, I am very hungry. Please send donations!

    I really enjoy the 5k. I have heard many people say that it isn’t fun because it is over too quickly. But there is nothing better than flying through the 5k, leaving everything out on the course, and knowing you couldn’t have done it better. Less than 30 minutes of running for an all day high. Love it.

    I like this training plan from About.com. http://running.about.com/od/5kracetrainingschedules/a/5Kadvanced.htm

    1. I generally feel the same way you do about a 5k, Chris. I love the short distance and the fact that you can give it all you have without too much strategizing.

  4. I ran my first 5K last weekend and had a blast (just started running for the first time in Jan). I am training for the NYC Marathon in Nov. I have a 10K I am going to do on the 28th then it is back to training for the big one……..

Leave a Reply

