Fitness fixation

Good news, everybody! I can swallow again without wincing. This also means I can now eat things other than toasted bagels and orange juice. It is so easy to forget how good it feels to be healthy–not that I am entirely healthy. Unfortunately, I haven’t made a miraculous recovery, I have just experienced a cold migration. Instead of my throat feeling like someone has it in a vice and is rubbing sandpaper on it, my nose is now runny. Not too pretty, but far preferable to a sore throat any day of the week, if you ask me.

Anyway, on to the subject at hand. I have a silly little dream that one day my blog will be big and awesome and people will send me their products to review and I’ll get a lot of free goodies. Realistically, I don’t think it will ever happen, but it is a nice little pipe dream to keep near. The thing is, I already know which products I would want to have sent to me for free, because (and this is in the spirit of full disclosure) there are certain things that I fixate on. It’s true! I see the infomercials and I get drawn in. Then maybe I see the product in stores, or I go to the website, or something, and…I get even further drawn in! I become completely obsessed with these products, like they are the little miracle pill that will change my life. It’s very silly, I know, but I can’t help myself.
One of these products is the Bender ball, part of the Bender Method of Core Training or something to that effect. For some reason, I am mesmerized by these ads, and convinced that I, too, will have a flat and toned tummy if I get the Bender ball! I have looked for reviews of the product, and I haven’t found much, but I saw an ad the other day that said that you can now get the Bender ball and the instructional DVD for like $9.95. If I had $9.95 to spend on something like that, it would be really tempting. I mean, not only would I be able to use it, I would be able to review it, too! Too bad I can’t write it off for educational purposes.

I also have a semi-crush/obsession with the bar method. The method consists of classes, and as far as I know, is mostly only available in California (with a few exceptions). It would be fun to have a job where I could just drop in on classes to try them out. Ah, dreams. And if I did have that job, I would be sure to try out a spinning class. I have always wanted to try one of those because I know I am weak when it comes to cycling, but I am scared to ride my bike in NYC (something about being car-doored=not-so-appealing to me) and really hate riding the stationary bike. I think it would be a fun and hard workout, the perfect way for me to kick my own butt…well, maybe someday!

What about you? What are your fitness fixations?

One comment

  1. Those infomercials really turn me off – I can’t help thinking that none of that stuff really works and that’s why they are on an infomercial. I mean, if the product were really all that great, it would just sell itself and they wouldn’t need obnoxious salespeople on infomercials.
    As for fitness fantasies that I’m fixated on – can’t say that I have any! I just try to work out so that I will age gracefully at this point. I guess that’s my fitness fantasy.

Leave a Reply

